Thank You by Dennis Garcia

As I sit down to write this morning, my article is now 12 days overdue. This is in part due to the fact that I’ve struggled with what to say. I’ve never been good at saying goodbye…especially to people that I love so dearly. So, I’ve procrastinated until the point that I cannot wait any longer. Even now, I cannot find the right words to express my thoughts and feelings. So, I will simply say thank you.

Thank you for taking a chance on a young, unproven, inexperienced guy.

Thank you for accepting our family into this church family, as if we had been here all along.

Thank you for showering our family with love and support.

Thank you for the countless words, letters, and cards of encouragement through the years.

Thank you for your prayers for my leadership, my health, and my family.

Thank you for the grace and mercy when I messed up along the way (which happened a lot more than I really care to admit).

Thank you for being partners in the gospel.

This church will always be remembered as one of the highlights of my ministry and my life. I thank God that He brought our family and this church together, though I wish we would have been granted more time together.

As I close, I would like to leave you with the words of the Apostle Paul,

“I give thanks to my God for every remembrance of you, always praying with joy for all of you in my every prayer, because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now. I am sure of this, that He who started a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 1:3-6)

This is my prayer: That God will continue the good work that we’ve done together and carry it on to completion. I pray that each of us will continue to fight the good fight and run the race well. So that one day, as we all stand before the Lord and we will hear the words we long to hear, “Well done, good and faithful servant.”

2 thoughts on “Thank You by Dennis Garcia

  1. I shall always remember you ” I was sick and you visited me.!” You are the very first paster to visit me when I was in a hospital.! Vaya con Diios always. May He always grant you the wisdom and words when your thoughts fail you.

    Like

  2. Thank you for everything you have done for me and Jacob you are a great role model and will be missed dearly. Love you and your family so much .

    Like

Leave a Reply

